The Best Thing

A pen and watercolour illustration by Colleen Clark of a fat woman with light brown skin and dark hair who is naked apart from white underpants with a frilly trim. A ribbon is twined around her bearing the words "your body is not the best thing about you, your body is not the worst thing about you".

A pen and watercolour illustration by Colleen Clark of a fat woman with light brown skin and dark hair who is naked apart from white underpants with a frilly trim. A ribbon is twined around her bearing the words “your body is not the best thing about you, your body is not the worst thing about you”.

I love this illustration by Colleen Clark. It’s beautifully drawn and has a beautiful message. You can even buy a copy of it here in Colleen’s webstore!

But, actually, I think my body IS the best thing about me.

I don’t mean that my appearance is the best thing about me, or that my flesh is all I amount to.  I have far more to offer the world than beauty or fuckability or fertility, the traditional value measures applied to the female body by the sexist society I live in.

But my body is how I experience the world and participate in it. My body allows me to see and hear and smell and touch. My body enables me to think and speak, to type and draw and to communicate in myriad other ways. Without my body, I’m not sure I would be anything.

Even when I don’t feel happy about the way it looks or the way it feels or functions, even when I am demoralised by the aforementioned sexist measures of my body’s “value”, I try and remember that. My body is my link with the world, and that makes my body awesome.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

